29.00 a Month: (855) 279-7170
affordable auto insurance

Do You Know?

Get low-cost auto insurance by changing your outdated Insurance plan
cheapest car insurance

Safety Tip

Automobiles with extreme safety factors ratings can readily get you the best affordable auto Insurance Now
cheap auto insurance

Savings Tip

Insurance providers give cheap auto insurance all you have do is inquire for the minimum rate to protect

Trip Calculator

Drivers Test

Could you pass a driver's test today? Find out - take our Rules
of the Road
quiz now.
quiz Quiz Start arrow

Cheap Car Insurance in Connecticut

Despite its small size, Connecticut makes number four on the list of the most densely populated states. It marks the southern border of the New England region and its maritime roots bring this East Coast state charm and allure. Picturesque farms and horse properties in the Nutmeg State wonderfully contrast the hustle and bustle of areas like New Haven, Chesire, and the Tri-State Area. While driving through Connecticut, CheapCarInsuranceco.com can provide drivers the information they need to stay informed and protected.

Resources for Laws and Regulations

Much like the state’s varied offerings in terms of scenery, the state’s insurance regulations and laws have a wide breadth of requirements for its drivers. Connecticut drivers can make sure they are protected through this list of important information.

Car Insurance Minimum Requirements

The Department of Motor Vehicles in Connecticut requires that each vehicle that is registered in the state have liability coverage and coverage for underinsured/uninsured drivers.

Minimums for Liability Coverage:

Death or injury per person involved in a traffic collision: $20,000

Death or injury per accident if multiple individuals are involved: $40,000

Damage of property: $10,000

Uninsured/Underinsured driver coverage: $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident.

If a driver does not register their vehicle, they are subject to having their license suspended and lose their privilege to register their vehicle in Connecticut.

New Driver Requirements for Licensing

The DMV of Connecticut mandates that new drivers must acquire the 2-year learner’s permit before obtaining a regular license. The driver must have this permit for at least 90 days before applying for the regular license. They must pass a vision test and a written test to obtain the learner’s permit. The permit has the following requirements and restrictions:

The driver must be accompanied by someone 20 or older that has held his or her license for four consecutive years without suspension.

They must complete an 8 Hour Safe Driving Practices Course. The DMV provides information on where and how to take the course.

If the driver is under 18, they may not have any passengers other than the required licensed driver.

Vision Screening: The applicant must have a visual acuity of 20/40 to pass this test. The test also evaluates the applicant’s perception of depth and color.

Written Test: This tests the applicant’s knowledge of the Connecticut Driver’s Manual. The applicant is required to pass a 25-question test by answering at least 20 questions correctly. The manual can be found online.

Road Test: The vehicle used is required to be registered, insured, and in safe operating condition. A licensed driver must drive it to and from the facility. The Connecticut Driver’s Manual states that the road tests evaluates the following skills: Properly adjust seat belts, steering wheels, mirrors and seats.

Operate all vehicle equipment including windshield wipers and washers, heater, parking break, headlights defroster, and horn.

Ability to obey traffic signs and signals

Vehicle Parking

Backing the vehicle

Basic driving skills

Ability to recognize warning lights on the vehicle’s instrument panel Fees: $19 fee for the Learner’s Permit and a $40 testing fee. $72 for a regular 6 year license and $84 for a 7 year license.

DUI/DWI

BAC: .08

Convictions in Connecticut result in a minimum license revocation for the driver and the State’s DMV website provides the penalties for Operating Under the Influence. In addition to criminal penalties and suspensions, Connecticut also enforces Ignition Interlock Device (IID) requirements for each offense.

Drivers must pay a $100 dollar fee upon application submission for the IID program. If court-ordered, the IID must be installed in each vehicle the client owns and operates. The installation fees that vary by installer must be paid. Every 30 days, the driver must have the IID recalibrated by the installer. If the driver fails to comply with any of the requirements, their license will be suspended.

First Offense:

Upon refusal, the driver’s license is suspended for:

18 months if 16-17 years old

1 year if 18-20 years old

6 months if 21 years or older

If tested at BAC of .02 to below .16:

1 year if 16-17 years old

6 months if 18-20 years old

90 days if 21 years or older

If tested at BAC of .16 or over:

1 year if 16-17 years old

240 days if 18-20 years old

120 days if 21 years or older

1-year of the IID program from the date the license is restored.

Second Offense:

Upon refusal, the driver’s license is suspended for:

3 years if 16-17 years old

2 years if 18-20 years old

1 year if over 21 years old

If tested at BAC of .02 to below .16:

2 years if 16-17 years old

18 months if 18-20 years old

9 months if over 21 years old

If tested at BAC of .16 or over:

30 months if 16-17 years old

20 months if 18-20 years old

10 months if 21 years or older

3 years of the IID program from the date the license is restored.

Third or Subsequent Offense(s):

Upon refusal, the driver faces a possible permanent suspension or a license suspension for:

6 years if 16-20 years old

3 years if 21 years or older

If tested at BAC of .02 to below .16, the driver faces a possible permanent suspension or a license suspension for:

4 years if 16-20 years old

2 years if 21 years or older

If tested at BAC of .16 or over, the driver faces a possible permanent suspension or:

5 years if 16-20 years old

2.5 years if 21 years or older

The IID Program is not stipulated due the possibility of permanent license revocation.

Laws on Texting and Driving

Connecticut has banned handheld and hands-free devices for its novice drivers. Handheld devices and texting are banned from all drivers.

Unique Laws

If one plans to walk backwards after sunset, Connecticut is not the place to be. The practice is illegal in the state. Residents are not allowed to educate their dogs according to an old law. If one plans to go for a bike ride, they should be sure they don’t exceed 65 MPH, as the police may pull them over!

Connecticut Cities

Bridgeport
New Haven
Hartford
Stamford
Waterbury
Norwalk
Danbury
New Britian
West Hartford
Bristol

Additional Resources


View Larger Map