Iowa Car Insurance Requirements
The insurance law in Iowa mandates that all Iowa drivers purchase a minimum of $20,000 in bodily injury liability coverage, up to a total of $40,000 per incident. That same state law also requires that drivers have property damage liability coverage with a minimum coveragel of $15,000. This type of policy is known in the industry as 20/40/15 coverage.
Iowa Insurance Coverage:
Bodily injury liability: $20,000/$40,000 minimum
Property Damage Liability: $15,000 minimum
While Iowa state law requires that all drivers carry liability insurance, drivers in the state can also choose a number of optional covarages, including coverage for uninsured and underinsured drivers. While this underinsured and uninsured driver coverage is not required by Iowa state law, it is a good idea to at least discuss the option with your insurance representative.
You can use the Cheapautoinsuranceco.com website to get a quote for the state minimum coverage you need to keep you legal in Iowa. You can also use our website to get a quote on a higher level of coverage you need to protect yourself and your vehicles. But no matter what coverage you need, we are sure you will find the best affordable Insurance coverage at the cheapest price right where you are.
Iowa CitiesDes Moines
Iowa Additional Resources